BookWild vs FareHarbor
FareHarbor is one of the biggest tour and activity booking systems, owned by Booking Holdings, with 250+ OTA connections, native apps and round-the-clock support. It doesn't publish a price list. BookWild is a small, UK-built platform for outdoor operators, with a published £1 per participant and no booking fee on your customer's bill.
Pricing side by side
Taken from each company's own website in September 2026.
- Platform fee
-
BookWild: £1 per participant.
FareHarbor: No published price list. Its help centre gives a 6% booking fee for businesses with under $35,000 of online bookings a year, plus 2% on API bookings in some markets.
- Who pays it
-
BookWild: You. It's never added to your customer's bill.
FareHarbor: Your customer: FareHarbor adds it to the price, including on dashboard and walk-up bookings.
- Monthly fee
-
BookWild: None.
FareHarbor: Not stated for the booking software. FareHarbor websites are priced per order.
- Card processing
-
BookWild: Stripe's standard rates, through a Stripe account in your business's name: 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards, 2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards.
FareHarbor: Deducted from your payouts. The rate isn't published.
- Contract
-
BookWild: None. Cancel any time.
FareHarbor: Either side can end it with 15 days' written notice.
| Pricing | BookWild | FareHarbor |
|---|---|---|
| Platform fee | £1 per participant. | No published price list. Its help centre gives a 6% booking fee for businesses with under $35,000 of online bookings a year, plus 2% on API bookings in some markets. |
| Who pays it | You. It's never added to your customer's bill. | Your customer: FareHarbor adds it to the price, including on dashboard and walk-up bookings. |
| Monthly fee | None. | Not stated for the booking software. FareHarbor websites are priced per order. |
| Card processing | Stripe's standard rates, through a Stripe account in your business's name: 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards, 2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards. | Deducted from your payouts. The rate isn't published. |
| Contract | None. Cancel any time. | Either side can end it with 15 days' written notice. |
Platform fees on a booking for 6 people
| Price a head | £25 (£150 booking) | £45 (£270 booking) | £65 (£390 booking) |
|---|---|---|---|
| BookWild | £6.00 | £6.00 | £6.00 |
| FareHarbor at 6% | £9.00 | £16.20 | £23.40 |
FareHarbor doesn't publish a price list. 6% is the booking fee its help centre gives for businesses with under $35,000 of online direct bookings a year, added to the customer's bill. The rate above that isn't published.
Platform fees at face value; card processing is listed separately above. Prices correct as of September 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.
Feature by feature
"Not listed" means we couldn't find it on the FareHarbor website or help pages in September 2026. It may still exist, so tell us if we've missed it.
Bookings and payments
- Online bookings
-
BookWild:
Yes
Scheduled sessions, private bookings and equipment hire
FareHarbor:
Yes
- Digital waivers
-
BookWild:
Yes
Versioned, with guardian signing for under-18s
FareHarbor:
Yes
Free, in selected regions
- Gift cards and discount codes
-
BookWild:
Yes
FareHarbor:
Yes
- Buy a Gift and Red Letter Days vouchers
-
BookWild:
Yes
Checked automatically
FareHarbor:
Not listed
Takes voucher codes, but neither brand is named
- Equipment hire
-
BookWild:
Yes
Stock per base, with card-hold deposits
FareHarbor:
Yes
Rentals with card holds
- Card readers for walk-ins
-
BookWild:
Yes
Stripe Terminal
FareHarbor:
Yes
Readers bought through FareHarbor
Team and safety
- Staff scheduling
-
BookWild:
Yes
Guides accept or decline
FareHarbor:
Yes
Crew assignment
- Qualification tracking
-
BookWild:
Yes
Expiry reminders; expired guides can't be assigned
FareHarbor:
Not listed
- One login for guides who work for several operators
-
BookWild:
Yes
FareHarbor:
Not listed
- Incident and near-miss reports
-
BookWild:
Yes
With a RIDDOR flag
FareHarbor:
Not listed
Reach and admin
- OTA listings
-
BookWild:
No
Not yet
FareHarbor:
Yes
250+ OTAs and 500+ affiliates
- Accounting sync
-
BookWild:
No
FareHarbor:
Yes
QuickBooks Online, Xero
- Text messages
-
BookWild:
No
FareHarbor:
Yes
- Native mobile app
-
BookWild:
No
FareHarbor:
Yes
iOS and Android, with offline check-in
| Feature | BookWild | FareHarbor |
|---|---|---|
| Bookings and payments | ||
| Online bookings | Yes Scheduled sessions, private bookings and equipment hire |
Yes |
| Digital waivers | Yes Versioned, with guardian signing for under-18s |
Yes Free, in selected regions |
| Gift cards and discount codes | Yes |
Yes |
| Buy a Gift and Red Letter Days vouchers | Yes Checked automatically |
Not listed Takes voucher codes, but neither brand is named |
| Equipment hire | Yes Stock per base, with card-hold deposits |
Yes Rentals with card holds |
| Card readers for walk-ins | Yes Stripe Terminal |
Yes Readers bought through FareHarbor |
| Team and safety | ||
| Staff scheduling | Yes Guides accept or decline |
Yes Crew assignment |
| Qualification tracking | Yes Expiry reminders; expired guides can't be assigned |
Not listed |
| One login for guides who work for several operators | Yes |
Not listed |
| Incident and near-miss reports | Yes With a RIDDOR flag |
Not listed |
| Reach and admin | ||
| OTA listings | No Not yet |
Yes 250+ OTAs and 500+ affiliates |
| Accounting sync | No |
Yes QuickBooks Online, Xero |
| Text messages | No |
Yes |
| Native mobile app | No |
Yes iOS and Android, with offline check-in |
Where FareHarbor is the better choice
If distribution is your priority, FareHarbor is hard to beat: 250+ OTAs and 500+ affiliates through one contract and one dashboard. It has native iOS and Android apps with offline check-in, and 24/7 support by phone or email. When you join, it builds your dashboard and moves your future reservations across for you.
BookWild doesn’t have OTA connections or a native app yet.
Switching from FareHarbor
- Your website. If FareHarbor built your site, the site and its WordPress theme stay FareHarbor’s when you leave, so plan the website move first.
- Payments. FareHarbor processes your payments itself. With BookWild, customers pay into a Stripe account in your business’s name.
- Bookings you’ve already taken. Paid bookings stay in FareHarbor. Keep it running until they’ve happened, or add them to BookWild by hand.
- Timing. Either side can end FareHarbor’s terms with 15 days’ written notice.
Get in touch and we’ll help you set up your activities.
Sources
Checked in September 2026. Each company can change its pricing and features at any time.
- FareHarbor help: October 2024 booking fee adjustment
- FareHarbor help: API fee
- FareHarbor help: processing rate adjustments
- FareHarbor: terms for providers (§16)
- FareHarbor: hosted site terms
- FareHarbor: websites
- FareHarbor: online booking
- FareHarbor help: FareHarbor Waivers
- FareHarbor help: gift cards
- FareHarbor: rentals
- FareHarbor help: card readers
- FareHarbor help: adding crew
- FareHarbor: OTA and affiliate partners
- FareHarbor: software partners
- FareHarbor: customer experience
- FareHarbor: mobile app
- FareHarbor: home page
- FareHarbor: about
- Stripe: UK pricing
Ready to see it for yourself?
£1 per participant. No monthly fees. Every feature included.
Sign-ups open soon. Tell us what you run and we'll get you in first.